'Mad TV' Is Back for a One-Night Cast Reunion in January — Here Are the Details


Mad TV is coming back for one night and one night only: As TVLine reported, the CW will air the Mad TV 20th Anniversary Reunion Special on Jan. 12 at 8 p.m. Eastern. The hour-long comedy extravaganza will feature brand-new sketches and revive "the show's signature characters" that viewers will recognize from its 14-year run, according to the CW. The network also hints at "highlights from previous famous guest stars," names of whom have yet to be revealed. 

"The cast reunites to attend a glamorous award ceremony to honor the series, but in classic Mad TV fashion, nothing goes as planned," according to TVLine.

Mad TV first aired in 1995 and won five Emmys over the course of 300 episodes, Screen Crush reported. The sketch-comedy series was cancelled in 2008, with its last episode airing in 2009, but such characters as Stuart, Dot Goddard, Ms. Swan and Antonia live on in the minds of devoted fans.

Who's coming back: The CW reports Ike Barinholtz, Alex Borstein, Mo Collins, Crista Flanagan, Anjelah Johnson, Nicole Randall Johnson, Keegan-Michael Key, Phil LaMarr, Artie Lange, Bobby Lee, Michael McDonald, Arden Myrin, Nicole Parker, Eric Price, Will Sasso, Aries Spears, Nicole Sullivan, Stephnie Weir and Debra Wilson will return for the reunion special. Many of the cast members have since gone on to launch major comedy careers, with roles on SNL, Family Guy, Eastbound and Down, Comedy Bang! Bang! and The Mindy Project, among others. Perhaps the most notable act to come out of MADtv is Key and Jordan Peele of Comedy Central's Key and Peele. Key is signed on — will Peele show up too? 

Where to watch: The 20th Anniversary show will air on the CW. On the CW Seed, fans can look forward to watching 75 of the Mad TV's "maddest and funniest episodes" beginning on Jan. 5, according to the CW.