DNC 2012 Schedule and Speakers: Obama Sand Statue Gives GOP Fodder for Attack


The Democratic National Convention 2012 in Charlotte, North Carolina, doesn’t kick off until Tuesday and the event -- in which the Democratic Party will nominate President Barack Obama for reelection -- it’s already filled with controversy.

A larger-than-life Mount Rushmore-style sand sculpture bust of President Obama is being readied for the event. The sculpture is being carved from 15 tons of sand brought in from Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, to be displayed at the entrance of the Ritz Carlton hotel and greet Democratic delegates anxious about a tight election amid a slow economic recovery. 

And, though the statue will probably look cool under the right lighting giving Democrats much needed enthusiasm ahead of a nasty general election campaign, Republicans are sure to seize in what they will say are Obama’s megalomaniac tendencies. 

The looming controversy is characteristic of a bitterly divided campaign in which Democrats will claim the Obama/Biden Administration saved the country from another Great Depression, and Republicans will seek to paint Obama not necessarily as a bad person, but as a "bad president.”

2012 Democratic National Convention Schedule and Speakers:

The first two days of the 2012 Democratic National Convention, Tuesday, September 4 and Wednesday, September 5, will be held at Time Warner Cable Arena. President Obama and Vice President Biden will accept the Democratic nominations for President and Vice President on Thursday, September 6 at Bank of America Stadium.


Congresswoman Tammy Baldwin of Wisconsin

Congressman Xavier Becerra of California

Newark Mayor Cory Booker

Congressman G.K. Butterfield of North Carolina

Former President Jimmy Carter (via video)

San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro, who will be the first Latino keynote speaker at a Democratic National Convention

Rhode Island Governor Lincoln Chafee

Congresswoman Judy Chu of California

Congressman Emanuel Cleaver of Missouri

Former President Bill Clinton

Congressman James Clyburn of South Carolina

Former Republican Governor of Florida Charlie Crist

Lieutenant Governor of North Carolina Walter Dalton

The Honorable Arne Duncan

Congresswoman Diana DeGette of Colorado

Former Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Tammy Duckworth

U.S. Senator Dick Durbin of Illinois

Congresswoman Donna Edwards of Maryland

Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel

Georgetown Law School Graduate Sandra Fluke

Charlotte Mayor Anthony Foxx

Congressman Barney Frank of Massachusetts

Former Charlotte Mayor Harvey Gantt

Former Michigan Governor Jennifer Granholm

Congressman Charlie Gonzalez of Texas

U.S. Senator Kay Hagan of North Carolina

California Attorney General Kamala D. Harris

Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper

Congressman Steny Hoyer of Maryland

Former Governor of North Carolina Jim Hunt

DCCC Chairman Congressman Steve Israel of New York

Montana State Superintendent of Public Instruction Denise Juneau

Former Virginia Governor Tim Kaine

Lieutenant General Claudia Kennedy (ret.)

Congressman John Larson of Connecticut

Congresswoman Barbara Lee of California

Congressman John Lewis of Georgia

CarMax co-founder and former CEO Austin Ligon

President of NARAL Pro-Choice America Nancy Keenan

Caroline Kennedy

U.S. Senator John Kerry of Massachusetts

Women’s rights activist Lilly Ledbetter

Obama Campaign Co-Chair Eva Longoria

Connecticut Governor Dannel Malloy

Delaware Governor Jack Markell

Boston Mayor Tom Menino

The Honorable Karen Mills

U.S. Senator Patty Murray of Washington

Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter

U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski of Maryland, together with the women of the U.S. Senate

Maryland Governor Martin O’Malley

Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick

House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi

House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi will also lead a presentation of the women of the House:

Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro of Connecticut

Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney of New York

Congresswoman Nydia Velazquez of New York

Congresswoman Gwen Moore of Wisconsin

Congresswoman Allyson Schwartz of Pennsylvania

Congresswoman Donna Edwards of Maryland

Candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives Joyce Beatty of Ohio

Candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives Tulsi Gabbard of Hawaii

California Assembly Speaker John A. Pérez

Congressman Jared Polis of Colorado

Congressman David Price of North Carolina

Illinois Governor Pat Quinn

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid of Nevada

President of Planned Parenthood Action Fund Cecile Richards

Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak

The Honorable Ken Salazar

Journalist Cristina Saralegui

U.S. Senator Charles Schumer of New York

Montana Governor Brian Schweitzer

The Honorable Kathleen Sebelius

Costco co-founder and former CEO Jim Sinegal

Former Ohio Governor Ted Strickland

Congressman Chris Van Hollen

Los Angeles Mayor, Democratic Convention Chair Antonio Villaraigosa

The Honorable Tom Vilsack

Senate candidate from Massachusetts Elizabeth Warren

DNC Chair Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz of Florida

Congressman Mel Watt of North Carolina