January 2017 Premiere Dates: When will your favorite TV shows return?

The new year has begun, and with it the return of prime-time television. Sherlock Holmes and the O'Neal family may have taken time off for the holidays, but they are now back in residence in the living room. While some shows, including Sherlock, The Bachelor and The New Celebrity Apprentice, have gotten an early start on the season, others, including the lovable slackers on It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia and the too-cool residents of Portlandiaare just kicking off. 

Along with reality TV show Hell's Kitchen and longtime favorite Law & Order: SVU,the complicated life of Olivia Pope on Scandal, a show whose ratings have recently declined, will return. The book-to-TV adaptation of Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events will premiere on Netflix.  

Check out all the midseason and season premiere dates for January 2017. (All times Eastern.)

Tuesday, Jan. 3

New Girl — 8 p.m. on Fox

Wednesday, Jan. 4

Blindspot — 8 p.m. on NBC

Modern Family — 9 p.m. on ABC

Black-ish — 9:30 p.m. on ABC

Thursday, Jan. 5

Superstore — 8 p.m. on NBC

Friday, Jan. 6

One Day at a Time — Netflix

Tuesday, Jan. 10

This Is Us — 9 p.m. on NBC

Wednesday, Jan. 11

Schitt's Creek — 8 p.m on Pop

Thursday, Jan. 12

Mad Families — Crackle

Friday, Jan. 13

Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events — Netflix

Sunday, Jan. 15

Homeland — 9 p.m. on Showtime

Tuesday, Jan. 17

No Tomorrow — 9 p.m. on The CW

Wednesday, Jan. 18

Six — 10 p.m. on History

Thursday, Jan. 19

Scandal — 9 p.m. on ABC

Friday, Jan. 20

Frontier — Netflix

Sunday, Jan. 22

Mercy Street — 8 p.m. on PBS

Wednesday, Jan. 25

The Path — Hulu

Wednesday, Jan. 25

Hunted — 8 p.m. on CBS

Thursday, Jan. 26

Riverdale — 9 p.m. on The CW

Sunday, Jan. 29

Black Sails — 9 p.m. on Starz

Monday, Jan. 30

Gotham — 8 p.m. on Fox

Tuesday, Jan. 31

The Fosters — 8 p.m. on Freeform