One of Snapchat's biggest assets is that photos and videos shared on the platform are temporary. But sometimes users can miss the contents of a snap if they're distracted for a quick second or don't have their sound on. For those scenarios, Snapchat has replaying options. Here's how to replay a snap, as well as who can see that you're watching a snap for a second time.
How to replay a Snapchat story
To view a Snap story for a second time, scroll past "Recent Updates" down to "All Stories." Here, you will get a list of all viewable snaps, as opposed to freshly updated ones, so you can watch content over again. Snapchats in a user's story last for 24 hours, and you can watch them over and over again so long as it is within the 24-hour window.
Who can see that a Snapchat story has been replayed?
When you watch someone's public Snapchat story, the user who posted the content can see who viewed it. The user gets a list of Snapchat users that have viewed (and taken screenshots of) their pictures or videos.
But when a Snapchat story is viewed for a second time — or multiple times — the content uploader is not informed. Translation: You can view someone's Snapchat story 101 times and they will be none the wiser that you are re-watching their Snapchat story.
How to replay a user-to-user snap
To replay a private snap, you need to act quickly. After viewing the snap for the first time, the user needs to hold down on the snap to reload it. Once the icon on the left goes from hollow to filled out, the snap will be ready for a second viewing.
Then, select on the snap as you would normally do to watch it over. That said, beware: Users cannot trigger the replay feature if they step out of your inbox, even for a second, after watching the snap for the first time.
Who can see that a private snap has been replayed?
A snap that is sent directly from a user to another user is a more curated sharing system. The sender will know when the recipient has played the snap — there will be a time stamp and a hollow icon indicating the snap has been opened. But recipients can replay a snap once — and only once — by double-clicking on it and the sender will receive a notification that their snap was replayed.