Texas 2012 Election Results: LIVE Mitt Romney, Ted Cruz Eye Victory for GOP and Tea Party


This Tuesday, Texans will flood election polls to cast their votes to decide our future president, senators, and congressmen. Election fever is spreading across United States, and on election night, we will finally see the glowing faces of our future leaders, and the sullen looks of their defeated counterparts.

There are a few things to watch out for during these elections in the Lone Star State. Texas has 38 electoral votes, which will most likely go to the Republican candidate, Mitt Romney. Texas has been historically a GOP state since 1980 (thank you, Reagan), so this is no surprise. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchinson is stepping down from her U.S. Senate spot, and now Republican candidate, Ted Cruz, and Democrat Paul Sadler are looking to take her place. Latest polls show that this will be a Cruz victory. Ron Paul will also finally step down from his congressional seat in District 14, leaving his track record along the south east coast up for grabs. Democrat Nick Lampson and Republican Randy Weber are about to face off.

With a consistently red state like Texas, there is little room for surprise. Eight of the nine Texas Supreme Court Justices are Republican, and there is a fair chance that we will continue on that streak. There is very little room for bipartisanship, but with the changing demographics in Texas, things may finally begin to change, even if only slightly, during these elections.

For those of you who are still confused about which district you are in, you can find your area by zip code here.

PolicyMic will be covering the 2012 election from the state of Texas live. For live updates, bookmark and refresh this page.

UPDATE: 11:23 p.m.

Networks are officially calling it. Obama has won Ohio, and has won the presidency! 

There you have it folks. Sorry Texans. Please don't secede!

UPDATE: 10:59 p.m.

District 6: Joe Barton (R), the incumbent, is winning by 58.5%

District 16: Beto O'Rourke (D), is winning by 64.6%

Senate: Ted Cruz is winning by 57.9%. I am sure Glenn Beck is crying tears of joy already. 

And we all knew that Texas was going to go to Romney, with 58.6% of the vote. 

UPDATE: 10:29 p.m.

Still waiting on a few select congressional district!

UPDATE: 9:18 p.m.

District 29: Gene Green (D), the incumbent, is winning by 90.5%

District 30: Eddie Bernice Johnson, the incumbent, is winning by 79.9%

District 32: Pete Sessions (R), the incumbent, is winning by 60.4%

District 33: Marc Veasey (D), is winning by 72.4%

District 34: Filemon Vela (D), is winning by 63.5%

District 35: Lloyd Doggett (D), the incumbent, is winning by 62.7%

District 36: Steve Stockman (R), is winning by 72.6% 

UPDATE: 9:12 p.m.

District 22: Pete Olson (R), the incumbent, is winning by 66.0%

District 23: Quico Canseco (R), the incumbent, is winning by 54.8%

District 24: Kenny Marchant (R), the incumbent, is winning by 63.9%

District 25: Roger Williams (R), is winning by 59.2% 

District 26: Michael Burgess (R), the incumbent, is winning by 70.3%

District 27: Blake Farenthold (R), the incumbent, is winning by 58.7%

District 28: Henry Cuellar (D), the incumbent, is winning by 58.2%

UPDATE: 9:07 p.m.

District 17: Bill Flores (R), the incumbent, is winning by 76.8%

District 18: Sheila Jackson (D), the incumbent, is winning by 76.5%

District 19: Randy Neugebauer (R), the incumbent, is winning by 88.4%

District 20: Joaquin Castro (D), is winning by 61.2%

District 21: Lamar Smith (R), the incumbent, is winning by 63.1%

UPDATE: 8:58 p.m.

District 11: Mike Conaway (R), the incumbent, is winning by 81.4%

District 12: Kay Granger (R), the incumbent, is winning by 71.3%

District 13: Mac Thornberry (R), the incumbent, is winning by 92.0%

District 14: Randy Weber (R), is winning by 51.8% (Ron Paul's old district)

District 15: Ruben Hinojosa (D), the incumbent, is winning by 59.3%

UPDATE: 8:52 p.m. 

District 1: Louie Gohmert (R), the incumbent, is winning by 71.9%

District 4: Ralph Hall (R), the incumbent, is winning by 72.8%

District 5:  Jeb Hensarling (R), the incumbent, is winning by 63.1%

District 8: Kevin Brady (R), the incumbent, is winning by 74.1%

District 10: Michael McCaul, the incumbent, is winning by 61.6%

UPDATE: 8:40 p.m.

SENATE: Polls are showing that Ted Cruz is winning with 56.4% of the votes. 

Ted Poe (R)is winning District 2 with 67.7% of the votes. (This is my district!)

John Culberson (R) is winning District 7 is winning with 63.4% of the vote.

Al Green (D) is winning District 9 with 79.5% of the vote. 

UPDATE: 8:30 p.m.

Here is a love song to all my Houston peeps:

One of the few blue areas in TX. 

UPDATE: 8:23 p.m.

35% of votes counted in Texas. 

UPDATE: 8:15 p.m.

Is this really a surprise? 

What is surprising right now is Obama's lead in NC...guess we will have to see as the night goes on. 

UPDATE: 7:51 p.m.

A voter out in Austin, TX really wanted to show his voting spirit. Any bets on who he voted for? 

UPDATE: 7:45 p.m.

Alright folks, polls have officially closed in: Indiana, Kentucky, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, Vermont, and Virginia. Texas will not be closing until 8 or 9 pm EST (depending on your location). 

We are getting close! 

UPDATE: 3:58 p.m.

Texas polls are showing 56% of the votes going to Mitt Romney right now, and 39% going to Barack Obama. It's closer than I thought it would be. 

It's a close match in Colorado, Florida, Iowa, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, and Virginia, which all have polls that are showing a 2-3% difference at the moment. 

UPDATE: 11:31 a.m.

Texas will be sending four additional representatives to Congress this year to coincide with the population growth of 4.3 million in the 2010 census. This gives Texas 36 congressional districts. The four new districts will change a bit of the dynamics in how representatives are elected, and two of the districts will are minority dominated to reflect the growing minority populations in the respective areas. Be on the look out. There could be a chance to have a few more Democrats representing the Lone Star state in some of these new districts.