113th Congress Members: 19 Republicans Appointed to House Committee Chairs, All White Men


Perpetuating the divide between white men and everyone else in the U.S House of Representatives, Speaker John Boehner announced yesterday that the chairmanships of the House Republican Steering Committee will go to ... 19 more white men.

To be fair, there are still two more chair members to be chosen, one for the House Ethics Committee and one for the House Administration Committee, but neither of those committees currently include any women or minority members. Rep. Mike McCaul (R-Texas) was chosen over Rep. Candice Miller (R-Mich.) for the Homeland Security Committee, and the GOP's only current female committee chair, Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen will step down at her term's end. With only 20 women in the House, Republicans have chosen to put the few women they do have in different positions of party leadership: Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-Wash.) will be the House Republican Conference Chair, with Lynn Jenkins (R-Kansas) taking on the role of the conference's vice chair and Virginia Foxx (R-N.C.) acting as the conference secretary.

According to Boehner's press release, the new chairmen will focus on "reforms that will grow our economy and create new jobs, and on holding the Obama administration accountable through aggressive oversight of the Executive Branch."

Here are the 19 new (and old) faces you can expect to see chairing committees in the 113th Congress.

1) Frank Lucas (R-Okla.), House Committee on Agriculture

2) Hal Rogers (R-Ky.), House Committee on Appropriations

3) Howard "Buck" McKeon, (R-Calif.), House Committee on Armed Services

4) Paul Ryan (R-Wisc.), House Committee on the Budget

5) John Kline (R-Minn.), House Committee on Education and the Workforce

6) Fred Upton (R-Mich.), House Committee on Energy and Commerce

7) Jeb Hensarling (R-Texas), House Committee on Financial Services

8) Ed Royce (R-Calif.), House Committee on Foreign Affairs

9) Mike McCaul (R-Texas), House Committee on Homeland Security

10) Mike Rodgers (R-Mich.), House Committee on Intelligence

11) Bob Goodlatte (R-Va.), House Committee on the Judiciary

12) Doc Hastings (R-Wash.), House Committee on Natural Resources

13) Darrell Issa (R-Calif.), House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

14) Pete Sessions (R-Texas), House Committee on Rules

15) Lamar Smith (R-Texas), House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology

16) Sam Graves (R-Mo.), House Committee on Small Business

17) Bill Shuster (R-Pa.), House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure

18) Jeff Miller (R-Fla.), House Committee on Veterans' Affairs

19) Dave Camp (R-Mich.), House Committee on Ways and Means