When Are the 2013 Oscars: On February 24, Academy Awards Will Be the Most Political Oscars Yet


Now that the nominees for the 85th Academy Awards — to be held on Sunday February 24, 2013, from the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, California — have been announced, it's easy to predict the Oscars 2013 will be one of the most political nights in Hollywood (and America). 

Here are four highly political films that will make the Oscars night, to be hosted by Family Guy's Seth MacFarlane, one of the most political ever: 

1) Lincoln: The Steven Spielberg-directed and produced historical film, about President Abraham Lincoln's quest to end slavery, leads the pack with 12 nominations including best picture, actor (Daniel Day-Lewis), and director. Its presence at the 2013 Oscars will remind Hollywood and America of the current fight for LGBT rights — and the political will of a president to lead opposing factions into meaningful social change. 

2) Argo: Ben Affleck's recreation of the 1979 Iranian hostage crisis made it to the best picture category but failed to provide Affleck with the much-wished nod as director. Is it because liberal Hollywood wants to punish Affleck for releasing the movie in the midst of the contentious 2012 presidential campaign (while the "Benghazi cover-up" scandal raged the nation)?  

3) Django Unchained: Quentin Tarantino's slavery-themed spaghetti western is up for five nominations including best picture and screenplay. The Jamie Foxx (who is also nominated for best actor)-starred film has been controversial for trivializing slavery and glorifying gun violence in the aftermath of the Sandy Hook elementary massacre.  

4) Zero Dark Thirty: The Kathryn Bigelow-directed and co-produced — and Jessica Chastain-starred — political thriller about the killing of Osama Bin Laden will be another big winner at the 2013 Oscars. The film has also been politically controversial, as it was well decried in advance by GOP lawmakers of being no less than a political ad for President Obama in the run up for the 2012 election.