March Madness Auto Bids and Schedule: LIU Brooklyn, Valpo and SDSU Punch Tickets


On Tuesday night, LIU Brooklyn, Valparaiso, and South Dakota State punched their tickets to the big dance with wins in their conference championship games. 

The Blackbirds of LIU beat Mt. St. Mary's 91-70 to win the Northeast Conference.

Valparaiso rallied to triumph over Wright State 62-64 to win the Horizon League and South Dakota State beat their rivals from North Dakota State 73-67 to take home the Summit League crown. (I predicted two out of three, with pretty good guesses on the scores, to boot.)

The NCAA Tournament has 31 automatic bids that are awarded to conference champions. Those champions are decided by 30 conference basketball tournaments (The Ivy League has no tournament, the regular season champ is given the automatic bid). The other 37 bids are at-large and awarded by the selection committee on March 17.

The lead up to Selection Sunday is one of the most exciting weeks of basketball. Check out a list of all the conference tournament championship games, along with what channel they will be available for viewing.

For the tournaments that have crowned a champion, the winner of the automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament is listed in bold. 

No Tournament

Ivy League Conference, season ends March 12, HARVARD

March 9

Atlantic Sun Conference, Noon, ESPN2 FLORIDA GULF COAST

Ohio Valley Conference, 7 p.m., ESPN2 BELMONT

March 10

Big South Conference, Noon, ESPN2 LIBERTY

Missouri Valley Conference, 2:35 p.m., CBS CREIGHTON

March 11

Colonial Athletic Association, 7 p.m., NBC Sports Network JAMES MADISON

Southern Conference, 7 p.m., ESPN2 DAVIDSON

Sun Belt Conference, 7 p.m., ESPN WESTERN KENTUCKY

Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, 9 p.m., ESPN2 IONA

West Coast Conference, 9 p.m., ESPN GONZAGA

March 12

Northeast Conference, 7 p.m., ESPN2 LIU BUTLER

Horizon League, 9 p.m., ESPN VALPARAISO

Summit League, 9 p.m., ESPN2 SOUTH DAKOTA STATE

March 13

Patriot League, 7:30 p.m., CBS Sports Network

March 16

America East Conference, 11:30 a.m., ESPN2

Conference USA, 11:30 a.m., CBS

Southwestern Athletic Conference, 4:30 p.m., ESPN2

Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, 5 p.m., ESPNU

Big 12 Conference, 6 p.m., ESPN

Mountain West Conference, 6 p.m., CBS

Mid American Conference, 6:30 p.m., ESPN2

Big East Conference, 8:30 p.m. ESPN

Southland Conference, 8:30 p.m., ESPN2

Big Sky Conference, 9 p.m., ESPNU

Big West Conference, 10:30 p.m., ESPN2

Pac-12 Conference, 11 p.m., ESPN

Western Athletic Conference, 11 p.m., ESPNU

March 17

Atlantic Coast Conference, 1 p.m., ESPN

Atlantic 10 Conference, 1 p.m., CBS

Southeastern Conference, 1 p.m. ABC

Big Ten Conference, 3:30 p.m., CBS