March Madness Basketball Tournament


At 6p.m. EDT Sunday, the NCAA Tournament Selection Show will announce the 68 teams slated to play for the NCAA Basketball Championship. Thirty-one teams with automatic bids (by virtue of winning their conference) will be joined by 37 at-large selections to participate in the three week tournament commencing March 21 and finishing with the championship game on April 8. The 68 teams in the tournament will be seeded 1-16 in four different brackets. The question is: Who will get the coveted 1-seeds? 

Three teams seem like locks for 1-seeds: GonzagaLouisville, andIndiana. The fourth, and final, 1-seed is more of a toss-up. Duke orKansas will most likely receive the honor. 

Duke would have locked it up if not for their upset at the hands of Maryland on Friday night, their first loss with Ryan Kelly in the line-up, but opened up the door for Kansas, who steam-rolled through the Big 12 Tournament and look poised for a tournament run. 

Thirty-one teams receive automatic bids to the NCAA Tournament by virtue of winning their conference tournament. They are joined by 37 at-large bids to fill out the 68-team field that is the NCAA Tournament. For a full list of the teams who have already punched their ticket to the big dance, see below: 

Ivy League Conference, season ends March 12, HARVARD

Atlantic Sun Conference: FLORIDA GULF COAST

Ohio Valley Conference: BELMONT

Big South Conference: LIBERTY

Missouri Valley Conference: CREIGHTON

Colonial Athletic Association: JAMES MADISON

Southern Conference: DAVIDSON

Sun Belt Conference: WESTERN KENTUCKY

Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference: IONA

West Coast Conference: GONZAGA

Northeast Conference: LIU BUTLER

Horizon League: VALPARAISO


Patriot League: BUCKNELL

America East Conference: ALBANY

Conference USA: MEMPHIS

Southwestern Athletic Conference: SOUTHERN

Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference: NORTH CAROLINA A&T

Big 12 Conference: KANSAS

Mountain West Conference: NEW MEXICO

Mid American Conference: AKRON 

Big East Conference: LOUISVILLE

Southland Conference: NORTHWESTERN STATE

Big Sky Conference: MONTANA

Big West Conference: PACIFIC

Pac-12 Conference: OREGON 

Western Athletic Conference: NEW MEXICO STATE





Look for a printable bracket here.

Be sure to tune into to PolicyMic for all the March Madness coverage on Selection Sunday and throughout the entire tournament.