Which States Smoke the Most Marijuana? Check This Map
Now that even the TSA is considering letting passengers board planes with marijuana, it seems weed is reaching new highs in American culture (no pun intended).
One report shows 10.8% of Americans now admit to occasionally smoking marijuana — compared to 10.2% the previous year. But, which states smoke the most?
Above is a map highlighting the states where the marijuana consumption rate is the highest, and below is a breakdown of the top 17 states that have the highest percentage of smokers. Is your state one of them?
16.29% of the state's residents use the substance, making Sarah Palin's state the top stoner state in America!
Here's the state's official pot law: according to NORML, "[The] use or display of any amount or possession of less than 1 ounce of marijuana is a class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days imprisonment and/or a fine up to $2,000."
The Green Mountain State takes second place, with 16% of its citizens reporting they consume marijuana.
The state's law? Possession of one ounce or less of marijuana by someone over 21 is punishable by a civil fine only. But possession of 1 to 2 oz. is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 6 months and a maximum fine of $500.
The Centennial State ranks third with 15.09% of its population using weed.
Remember, Colorado and Washington were the first two states to legalize recreational marijuana in 2012. As a result, "Amendment 64" legalized the possession of up to one ounce of marijuana for adults over the age of 21. In addition, individuals may also grow up to six plants for personal use.
4. New Hampshire
Almost 15% of citizens of New Hampshire smoke, making it the fourth top stoner state in America.
In the Granite State, possession of any amount of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year and a maximum fine of $2,000.
The Bay State ranks fifth, with 14.55% of its population using marijuana.
According to NORML, possession of one ounce or less of marijuana is punishable as a civil offense only. If the offender is 18 years old or older, he or she must pay a fine of $100.
Oregon ranks sixth, with 14.45% of its population consuming pot.
According to CBS News, the Beaver State allows up to a 24-ounce supply of medical marijuana. Oregonians can also grow up to 24 pot plants. However, for non-medicated consumers, possession of less than one ounce of marijuana is a violation punishable by fine of $650.
7. Rhode Island
The Ocean State ranks seventh, as a reported 12.32% of its population use cannabis.
Rhode Island legalized medical marijuana in 2006. But for those consumers without written certification by a physician, possession of between 1-5 kilograms is a felony punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years and a maximum of 50 years imprisonment.
8. Washington, D.C.
14.29% of residents of our nation's capital smoke weed, making it the eigth "state" on the list.
Voters in the District of Columbia approved Initiative 59 to legalize the medicinal use of marijuana in 1998. However, the effort was put on hold after Congress passed the Barr Amendment, which prohibited Washington from using any of its funds for implementing its medical marijuana program. Congress overturned the amendment in 2009.
The Pine Tree State is the ninth most stoner state thanks to the 13.56% of its population who consume marijuana.
Maine legalized medical marijuana in 1999. In October 2009 the federal government announced it would halt prosecution of medical marijuana users, if they were in compliance with their state's law. On November 3, 2009, Maine voters approved Question 5, which enacted the citizen-initiated bill, "An act to establish the Maine Medical Marijuana Act."
12.88% of the population of the Golden State smoke weed.
Fifty-six percent of voters approved Proposition 215 on November 5, 1996, removing state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of medical marijuana. But recreational users caught with 28.5 grams of marijuana will be punished by a fine of $100.
11. Washington State
Washington State ranks in 11th place, with 12.84% of its population smoking pot.
The state was on of the first two to legalize recreational marijuana in November 2012. In Washington, the adult possession of up to one ounce of cannabis for personal use is not subject to criminal or civil penalty.
12. New York (12.83%)
Good old New York ranks at 12th on the list, with 12.83% of the population smoking weed.
Marijuana is illegal both for medical and recreational purposes in the Empire State. And, New York City police arrest and jail more people for marijuana-related offenses than anywhere in the world.
In Connecticut, 12.53% of the population smokes pot.
Possession of less than one-half ounce of marijuana by a first time offender carries a civil penalty of $150. Meanwhile, possession of less than one-half ounce for subsequent offenses carries a penalty of a civil fine between $200 and $500.
14. Montana (12.21%)
Pot-loving Montanans, rejoice: 12.21% of the people in your state smoke, putting you at 14th place on this list.
In Montana, Marijuana is a Schedule I hallucinogenic substance, and is also considered a dangerous drug. Possession of 60 grams or less of is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months imprisonment and a fine of $100 - $500.
12.16% of the population of Michigan smoke weed.
Sixty-three percent of voters approved the use of medical marijuana in the Great Lakes State in 2008, but for those without prescription possession of any amount is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000.
12.01% of Hawaii's population consumes marijuana.
Medical marijuana is legal in Hawaii. However, for those without prescription, possession of 1 ounce or more but less than 1 pound is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year imprisonment and/or a $2,000 fine.
Finally, there's good old Delaware, coming in at 11.86% of the population smoking pot.
Governor Jack Markell signed medical marijuana into law on May 13, 2011, removing state-level criminal penalties on the use and possession of cannabis obtained from state-licensed facilities for patients with an authorized "debilitating medical condition." Otherwise, possession of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a fine not exceeding $1,150.